Blog Entries

Cool Got my lower retainer today!

Well, I'm almost done with my Invisalign journey! I went to the ortho today and he put in my lower bonded retainer. I also have to wear circumferential elastics on the bottom for 3 weeks. So, I still have the 2 lower buttons for the elastics. He did some IPR on my lower teeth, too. Then, he took impressions for my upper retainer. After a lot of discussion, I decided to go with the Hawley (traditional) retainer. He gave me a choice of Vivera (have to order), Essix (he makes them himself in-house) or Hawley (made in a lab).

Because I work in a hospital, I don't have time to take out the Essix to drink beverages like coffee, tea or soda pop. While I drank these with Invisalign, I only did so when it was close to switching out my trays. With the Vivera & Essix, I won't be switching to another tray in a few days. I'm too worried about staining, so the Hawley was the best option for my lifestyle. No, I'm not thrilled about having a visible retainer, but he said I'll only need to wear it full time for 3 months and then wean down to night time wear. I'm fine with that. Plus, he said he can make adjustments on the Hawley at any time. Those adjustments would require new impressions with the Essix or Vivera.

I will go back on January 13th to get my Hawley and I will officially be done with my Invisalign treatment. That will make nearly 2 years since I started (I got my 1st tray on Jan. 17th, 2013). I'm SO excited to being nearly done. It feels so strange to only have a tray on top right now! By the time I get my Hawley, I'll have been wearing my last tray for 9 weeks.

The finish line is in sight!!!!!!!!
    Invisalign Start Date: 1-17-2013

Initial round of treatment: 24 U&L, 14 attachments
    Refinements 1/28/14: 22 U&L, 16 attachments, 3 metal buttons, 5 elastics

Lower retainer 12/23/14, circumferential elastics
    Upper retainer 1/14/15