Day 5, hoping I didn't make a mistake...

Oh boy, this is going to be a long haul.

I'm a single guy, age 50, still harbor dreams of getting married and having kids. I'm on Day 5 of Invisalign, and the thought of trying to kiss anyone new with these on (or even with just the 10 knobs glued to my teeth) is daunting.

I've got a long way to go: 43 (!) lower trays (x 2 weeks), 27 upper trays (x 2 weeks).

If I keep them in while eating I can move it up to 10 days instead of 14. But still, that's a LONG way to go. 14 months minimum (if I eat wearing them), up to 20 months (if I don't, or if I can't for fear of root damage).

What I didn't know is that eating with the trays in I just don't taste the food (and the trays are awkward to chew with), so it's not pleasant.

The glued-bumps feel horrible on my teeth -- like cheese-fondue-from-hell that won't go away.

I'm a professor, so I need to speak publicly. With the trays in I make whistling noises, or need to slurp the spit away from my teeth. (They fit fine, just...) It's hard to enunciate.

I already have a canker-sore from where the tray flared out -- I'll have to file/cut this away on each of the 43 trays, over time.

I paid a lot of money up front, had one lower-tooth removed to make room (severe crowding in lowers).

I could switch over to old-style metal (or ceramic) braces, I suppose -- though I'm not sure they'd be any better.

*sigh* In short, it seems worse than I expected. :-(

I was reasonably happy before with my crooked smile, even if some other folks didn't like it.

I told myself I'd wait one month (2-3 trays), and reassess.

Is it common to have these second-thoughts, buyer's remorse?

Blog Entries
    Hi LiamK-