Blog Entries

Add Your Invisalign Review Here

Please use our partner site to add your Invisalign Review.

Submit Your Invisalign Review

2. I have been wearing Invisalign for about 18 months-just about done I believe and its not soon enough. I did have some nausea here and there but have attributed that to perhaps not enough cleaning/ hygiene. Since I started to put much more effort into a lot more on cleaning and soaking in Efferdent those issues have gone away pretty much.
    However in the year and a half that I have been wearing them my health had deteriorated drastically. My vitamin D levels dropped to zero, my glands were constantly swollen although thyroid tests did not indicate hyper or hypothyroid condition. My diet had not changed as I have always been a healthy eater and don't eat fast food, junk food, frozen or canned food.
    Now I am seeing a neurologist because of brain function impairment and I question the biocompatability testing that has been done on invisalign. I am assuming that as they are not "implants" they have passed biocompatability testing for devices only with contact up to 24 hrs. However that test is intended for temporary contact up to 24 hrs. If these devices are in contact for 20 hrs a day for 18 months what test has been conducted to determine that they are safe. The material that they are made of is not well published- I noted a mention to polyeurethane somewhere. That what we laquer our furniture with!! I cant say for sure what they are made of?
    Regardless, all plastics are scary materials as the material manufacturers are not required to divulge their formulation even to the OEM manufacturer. (I work in the medical device field) While they may be polyeurethane or similar we will never know what additives are in the materials. Has the material supplier to Invisalign filed the material formulation with the FDA? I have a ton of questions but doubt I will ever get all the answers even from my orthodontist.