Incognito and Speech -- 2 weeks in...

Hi --

I have had incognito braces on for 2 weeks now. While my speech has greatly improved since I first had them put on, it is definitely not back to normal. People still ask me things like "Is your mouth sore?" "Are you sucking on something?" It's so unbelievably frustrating. The posts on this forum about lingual braces and speech aren't terribly encouraging either and I'm starting to panic that this is how's it going to be for the long haul. That is not acceptable to me.

The whole point of going with this type of orthodontics was to be discrete (incognito) and so far, with all the explaining I'm having to do, they are NOT incognito.

As a single professional I am really worried this won't improve. My good friend who is a speech pathologists says to give it a month and it will get back to normal, but I'm not sure I believe it...

Does anyone have any thoughts? Experiences?

Thanks.

For me, the first 2 weeks were the worst. Once my tongue had "toughened up", things were a lot better. Do give it a few more weeks before you make a decision. Hopefully things will settle down for you.

I'm also scared this will happen to me, I'm a week in and really struggled with my speech at first. I got my uppers on last week and my lowers on today, and my lowers have actually HELPED my speech... I think by balancing out my mouth! I would recommend you talk as much as you possibly can, even if its a struggle and soul destroying (because it was for me) but it DOES help... I'm just struggling a little with 's' sounds now.. Practice makes perfect! I also read somewhere that applying wax all the way along your brace will make it easier as it will mimick the usual smooth surface of your teeth.. I haven't tried it myself though! Good luck!

I love it...
    Dictionary definition :) dictionary.com
    1. having one's identity concealed, as under an assumed name, especially to avoid notice or "formal attentions".